Long Days Above Ground

Release Year: 2009

*This album is no longer in print and only available as a digital download.*

With the same band lineup and crew from the Party Dress album, Pierce Edens and The Dirty Work unveiled their sophomore album, titled Long Days Above Ground. The recording took place at Landslide Studios in Asheville, NC, generously funded in part by an artist’s grant from the City of Asheville.

During an intensive week-long session, the band laid down the tracks that would eventually form the heart of the album. It was the first time the band brought in assistance from outside musicians, such as The Firecracker Jazz Band, to create a more detail oriented and realized recording.

Track Listings

  1. Drowning Man
  2. Party Dress
  3. Black Shiny Shoes
  4. Blacktop
  5. Hallelujah
  6. Ghost On The Radio
  7. Queen Of Hearts
  8. Things I Stole
  9. Good Man
  10. Money
  11. Soberin’ Up

Album Credits

  • Pierce Edens: vocals, guitars, percussion
  • David Mack: drums, percussion
  • Matt Smith: lap and pedal steel, lead guitar
  • Michael Olivier: bass, percussion
  • Sean Donnelly: Piano
  • Michael Libermento: Organ
  • Firecracker Jazz Band Ensemble: Horns
  • Adam Johnson: Producer and Engineer